Challenges and Community

Standard

Hello again.

I’m still busy making progress with my body of work for the upcoming exhibition.   I still have 2 large paintings to complete and some varnishing to do and I think I’m just about done.  I’m happy with my work this year.  I can see it evolving as the months go on.  As I’ve said before, I am being challenged in many ways, and I think the challenges are having the positive effects they were meant to – I am concentrating better and my interpretations are resulting in more striking works.

At this point I’d like to share with you a painting in progress:

"Morning Light" (in progress) ©Deborah Eileen Burrow 2010

"Morning Light" (in progress) ©Deborah Eileen Burrow 2010

I am really happy with this painting and I think it will be the focus in my next exhibition.  I’ll post my progress in the next blog.

Meanwhile, my contribution to the Bury Fringe Festival has now become public.  I can finally show you the beer label design I was commissioned for a special brew for the Festival.  The subject was decided by the organiser, and I shared a few sketches with her before I proceeded.  It was a challenge – not my normal style of painting, but I think I’ve managed to retain an element of my own artistic thumbprint, particularly with the red trees!

Special Beer Label Painting for Bury Fringe ©Deborah Eileen Burrow 2010

The organisers of the Festival were thrilled with the result, and that makes me happy.  Check out their website

Over the last few months I have been concentrating on my smaller works.  My online store now has 46 items in stock and there is FREE SHIPPING on EVERYTHING for the foreseeable future.  I am really quite happy with these little pieces of artwork in the shop – there are lots of bright and collectable items that are just waiting for the right home.  I ship internationally too and you can easily convert the prices to your currency using this site.  I also take commissions and I am happy to chat with my customers to make sure I can provide the best I can offer.

Online Store Shop Front April 2010

Visit the shop

I just like to finish by saying that I am very grateful for all of your support.  I am having a great time as an artist, and I’m very happy to be meeting lots of different people and artists here on the internet and in my own region at various events.   Its nice to know there is a healthy community for artists and I don’t know where I’d be without it. 🙂

Now its time for:

♥ Artist in Focus ♥

Megan Chapman

International abstract visual artist and photographer  living and working in Arkansas, USA.  I love her work – it always evokes an emotional response from me.  She is a wonderful artist with a great eye for colour and contrast.  Megan also has a strong work ethic and relationship with her collectors and followers.

See more at http://meganchapman.com and follow her blog at http://meganchapman.blogspot.com

Sometimes ©Megan Chapman 2010

4 responses »

  1. Thank you so much Debs, it is an honor to be included in your blog and your new feature: Artist in Focus.

    You are such a dedicated artist, and because of this you are soaring to new heights. It has been a pleasure to watch your work evolve and flourish.

  2. Hi Deborah,

    This is just a note to say that I have added a link back to your blog, as you have kindly included a little link to my ‘blog’. I believe we briefly met at the Artworks selection day. Good luck with all of your projects – you seem very busy!

    Kind regards, Jazz

Leave a Reply

